Seven Sacraments

Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church

Baptism is one of the first steps one takes in his or her commitment and discipleship within the Holy Church.

Confirmation is connected with our baptism, meaning that, like baptism, it is a spiritual commitment to our maturing faith. Confirmation is also one of the three initiation sacraments and is associated with the sealing of the Holy Spirit.

For Catholics, the Holy Eucharist is sacrifice and a meal. It is our belief that the real presence of Christ is received: body, blood and divinity. We are spiritually nourished and brought to a closer relationship with our God.

The Sacrament of Penance (also called Reconciliation) affects three elements: Conversion, confession and celebration. We are forgiven by God through His unfathomable love and we, in turn, forgive others.

Anointing of the Sick
The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick, also called “Last Rites” and “Extreme Unction,” is related to healing for both spiritual, mental and physical illness.

Couples make a public sign of their commitment to one another through the Sacrament of Matrimony (Marriage). This Sacrament also shows the couple’s dedication to God and His values.

Holy Orders
The Sacrament of Holy Orders, also known as Ordination, is related to the ordination and office responsibility of the priest who is used as a vessel for the other Sacraments to be offered to the congregation, especially the Eucharist.

Excerpts from Meditations on the Sacraments of the Catholic Church,
2nd Ed., ©2013 Fr Charles.

Comments are closed.