Ecumenical Councils

Within the ancient Church, there are specific councils that “have received the universal approval of the entire Church in all times and places. These councils have been termed the Seven Ecumenical Councils.”*

These include:

  • Nicea 1 (325)
  • Constantinople I (381)
  • Ephesus (431)
  • Chalcedon (451)
  • Constantinople II (553)
  • Constantinople III (680)
  • Nicea II (787)

You can read more about the Ecumenical Councils on the Orthodox Wiki site.

* Read more about the Seven Ecumenical Councils.

Comments are closed.